My new post at DesiringGod: Make the Switch in Life and Worship

The good folks at DesiringGod published something I wrote last week. I hope it helps you!

During a ferocious winter storm, I awoke in the middle of the night to find my house without electricity. A quick glance out the window revealed that our entire block was entirely dark.

I called our power company. “Yep,” they said, “the power is down in your neighborhood. Our repair teams should have it restored in about six hours.”

Turning to my wife I said, “The power is down.” She hid her love for obvious statements behind an eye roll. “They’re hoping to have it restored in about six hours.”

She rolled back to sleep. I got out of bed, walked to the bathroom, and closed the door. Then, I did something which I’ve thought about a hundred times.

Image

I flipped the light switch.

Read the rest here.

Leave a Reply

